Back to Home

The Reproductive System

The major function of the reproductive system is to ensure the survival of the species. The other systems within our bodies work continuously to maintain homeostasis for the survival of the individual. The reproductive system has four functions, which are:

  1. To produce egg and sperm cells
  2. To transport and sustain these cells
  3. To nurture the developing offspring
  4. To produce hormones

All of these functions are divided between the primary and secondary reproductive organs. The primary reproductive organs (gonads) consist of the ovaries, which is only within the female reproductive system, and testes, which is only within the male reproductive system. The ovaries are responsible for producing the eggs, the testes are responsible for producing sperm cell gametes, but they're both responsible for producing hormones. The hormones that are produced function in the maturation of the reproductive system, the development of sexual characteristics, and regulation of the normal physiology of the reproductive system. All of the other organs, ducts, and glands in the reproductive system are considered secondary (accessory) reproductive organs. These structures transport and sustain the gametes and nurture the developing offspring.

Here are all of the main organ systems of the human body and some info about them: